LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 06-27-2001, 09:59 PM   #1
chemaholic
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Mandrake 8.0 network setup

Ok I want to say up front that I just installed Mandrake 8.0 and it is my first attempt at using Linux ever. I am very very lost when it comes to everything associated with the OS, since I have not had time to sit down and really learn it.

What I would like to do is this. I have a LAN at my house with two comps running ME on them (stop laughing at me). They each have their own IP address which gives them each their own cable connection. I have them set up to get their IP from the hub (eg everything is set to automatic in my windows networking). I would like to add the Linux box to this hub, give my ISP the IP address for it (I usually get this for my windows boxes using winip) to get its own connection, and be able to file and print share with the other comps on the network. Eventually I will make my Linux box the router/server but first things first. :smile:

I have Linksys etherfast 10/100 cards in all my boxes. I have gone into the control center and tried to set up a connection using the wizard. I have no idea what to give my linux box for an IP address since my other boxes are all set on auto. Same for the subnet mask. Also what do I put in for the hostname and domain name when it asks for it? I just have a workgroup set up for my windows boxes and it works fine. I want to be able to browse the net and get mail on my linux box and share files and printers with the windows boxes. One day I will set up a Linux router/server, but I think I need to learn more first, and this system is probably too slow to be my router anyway (233 mhz).