LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2001, 12:36 AM   #1
hybrid110
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Exclamation

I just installed Redhat 7.0 and I have no idea what to do next. I installed Gnome for my GUI but I heard KDE is better. I also heard I need to update my kernel ??? have no idea where to even find kernel. Also, how do I configure my devices mouse keyboard sound video 3dfx USB mbcontrollers DVD? Basically I just need to know where to start, I've been working with Windows and dos for 10 years but I have no idea how to configure linux.
Thanks for any posts
Chris

Old 03-21-2001, 02:58 AM   #2
ejtbrown

Distribution: RedHat 6.0 & RedHat 7.0

Rep: Reputation: 15
I'm somewhat new to the Linux learning curve (having kicked around in DOS and Windows for most of my life), so hopfully we see computers in more or less the same way. I mention this because in my experience, a successful Windows-To-Linux transition requires a change in frame of mind.

******* If it works, don't worry about it yet.
You can change *anything* on your Linux box. It's all a question of effort. Changing the screen resolution, for example is rather a lot easier than modifying inetd (the deamon that handles TCP/IP services), but both are well within the realm of possibility. You mentioned updating your kernel. This is a good thing to do, insofar as it's good to keep up to date, but if you don't need any of the features in the newer kernel releases, don't worry about it.

******* Linux is a preference-based OS