LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-17-2001, 08:34 PM   #1
ncstate74
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question

I'm new to linux. I had read how easy it would be to take an old pentium and turn it into a router. I've been trying for about a month now and I'm stuck. This is my last resort before I give up and buy a router. After many problems which I won't get into I've gotten this far :
1) Red Hat 7.0 installed.
2) two linksys network cards configured and working (many many problems with these cards...stay away from the linksys/tulip driver mess if you can)
3) I can use the linux box to access the internet from my dsl modem/service on eth0.
4) Using dynamic ip address assignment for assigning internal network computers (2 win 98 machines) from the other network card (eth1).
5) From the internal win 98 machines I can ping any external ip addresses (ping 152.some.ip.address).