LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 12-05-2000, 06:24 AM   #1
steve

Distribution: Suse 7.2

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question

I want to buy a new modem that is compatible with Linux,does anybody know which brand or model would be best? I am pretty new to Linux so I would probably want one that is easy to set up!

Old 12-05-2000, 06:58 AM   #2
CragStar

Distribution: Ubuntu

Rep: Reputation: 47
Lightbulb NOT A WINMODEM!

steve, make sure that you do not buy a winmodem or softmodem. These are not well supported with Linux yet and so you will definately have problems with trying to get them to work.

As far as individual modems are concerned go to this web site for a general overview.
http://www.o2.net/~gromitkc/winmodem.html
I am sure that other's can tell of modems which they recommend specifically, unfortunately I have a softmodem!

Old 12-05-2000, 06:59 AM   #3
mathi

Distribution: Slackware

Exclamation

You know the common problem: A lot of modems only come with drivers for Windows, and the manufactorers won't give the specifications to driver-develloppers. You can find more info at http://www.linmodems.org, but read this carefully. And take care when buying, most PCI modems are not suitable. I think all external modems will work fine. Here's a good description of the problem: http://www.o2.net/~gromitkc/winmodem.html
(excuse my chaotic style, I'm writing this while working in office on various Windows projects).
And on that site is also a list of bad modems.

I hope I've helped you,
gr
Matthieu

Old 12-05-2000, 07:03 AM   #4
mathi

Distribution: Slackware

Talking

I see I replied at the same time as CragStar, and providing the same info. Sorry