LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Security
User Name
Password
Linux - Security This forum is for all security related questions.
Questions, tips, system compromises, firewalls, etc. are all included here.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 06-23-2001, 01:18 AM   #1
Wazza

Distribution: RedHat 7.2

Rep: Reputation: 15
Ravings

Hello All.
Please forgive me if I'm raving, feel free to hit the back button on your browser if you like.
I'm currently studying IT part time at TAFE, and after a year am finally heading into networking, which I have a fascination for.
I tend to get enthusiastic with any subject regarding networks, even though I know little at present.
One area that really interests me is security, and using Linux is slowly teaching me some basics about how things work (for free of course)
When talking about IP Chains and firewalls to fellow students, I always joke about the fact that if anyone is stupid enough to find their way into my computer, good luck to them, and that it is just for learning purposes.
My thinking was that home computers would seldom be of interest to hackers, and after all, mine was just one in a million right?
After seeing a post from "Razbot" I realised that my firewall rules were around the wrong way if a truly paranoid firewall is to be installed.
I started chains with the accept policy, and then tried to work out what ports were open, learn how to close the ones I didn't need, and anything else I could learn about along the way.
Problem is, I don't know a lot, and as an example, didn't consider Trojans etc.
So I started again with Razbot's script in hand, and re did mine over, I guess the advantage now is that anything I don't know about has a chance of being stopped simply because all policies are DENY, and it made me learn, because anything that I wanted to pass through, I had to configure myself. (Thanks to Razbot)