LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2001, 09:36 AM   #1
lhoff
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0 Official
Posts: 181

Rep: Reputation: 30
Very basic question: how do I run a newly downloaded app?


I'm about a week old (new?) in my Linux Mandrake usership. I downloaded the Linux version of my favorite MP3 search agent the other day. I got this thing called a .tar.gz file. I concluded that that is an archive, like ZIP files on Windows.

Konqueror let me enter this file as though it were a directory. I moved the folder inside it to my usr/lib directory. Then, when I went to the usr/lib directory and entered this new subdirectory, double-clicking on the app did nothing.

I tried moving everything to usr/bin instead. Everything moved fine, but I still can't get the app to run.

Is there something different from what I would normally do in Windows that I must do to run an app I've downloaded from the internet? The file properties of this new file say that it's an executable...

Thanks!
 
Old 06-25-2001, 09:46 AM   #2
jharris
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Distribution: Slackware, Fedora, RHES
Posts: 2,243

Rep: Reputation: 47
Yeah, a tar.gz file is a lot like a .zip file - its actually a .tar file (TApe Archive) that been compressed with GZip...

You probably want to extract the .tar.gz file somewhere using
Code:
tar xvfz myFile.tar.gz
This will normally create a folder called myFile. Look in that directory for a README or INSTALL file. Read this and it will tell you how to install the application.

good luck

Jamie...
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-26-2001, 06:05 PM   #3
bobthebat
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Distribution: Slackware 8
Posts: 82

Rep: Reputation: 15
also just to clarify, when you download a program in .tar.gz format, you actually need to compile it and then install it, but this is not hard at all. Most of the time, the commands to to this are (you must be in the uncompressed directory and be root):

./configure
make
make install

sometimes there are extra options and such that will be described in the README or INSTALL files, as jharris said. After you install, an executable will be placed in your /usr/bin or /usr/bin/x11 or /usr/local/bin or some folder like that, and can be launched by just typing its name.
 
Old 07-05-2001, 07:43 PM   #4
mcmunt
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: South Pacific
Distribution: RH 7.3
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
I understand the process for compiling or making apps, but when I try to ./configure or make an app I get a file not found error relating to the commands.
I've used "tar xvzf" to extract the source and moved the directory and su'd into root. I type in "make" and the shell returns "make: file not found". Now I've searched my Madrake 8.0 install for configure or make but can't find a thing. What do I have to install/download to get these commands running??
Help

mcmunt
 
Old 07-06-2001, 08:59 AM   #5
trickykid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2001
Posts: 24,149

Rep: Reputation: 269Reputation: 269Reputation: 269
Is it the proper way of installing if you read the INSTALL or README files on the file you downloaded.

Have you tried the full path when using the make or whatever command? Or are you in the present directory of that newly downloaded program?
 
Old 07-06-2001, 07:06 PM   #6
mcmunt
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: South Pacific
Distribution: RH 7.3
Posts: 6

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thanks for the reply TrickyKid. The app I'm trying to build is gkrellmoon from freshmeat. INSTALL file says to just do a "make" then a "make install".
Found out I hadn't installed the files for "make" which is why I had the files not found message - duh! But now when make tries to build the files I get a couple more commands not found: gtk-config and imlib-config. So I'm about to go hunting for those.
At least I'm heading in the right direction.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Question: Microsoft Visual Studio 6.0 (A.K.A. Visual Basic 6) Will it run? S0RD3N Linux - Software 8 05-07-2008 08:42 PM
I downloaded an app and now my KDE control center is borken? ausm MEPIS 2 11-21-2005 10:03 AM
how do I run a newly installed rpm package trempel Linux - Newbie 4 01-26-2005 11:36 PM
Newly Installed Prog Won't Run toob Linux - Newbie 8 02-21-2003 08:52 PM
Newly created user can't run kde neeyo Linux - General 4 04-11-2002 03:29 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration