A list of free, usable basic apps

I'm a late starter - never owned a "smart" phone - and have just bought my first tablet, so Android is a new experience. Thus far it has just scraped into my "acceptable" rating and confirmed the worst of my suspicions about it. Trying to find a useful PDF reader has proved most apps to be little more than worthless marketing ploys by the computationally challenged.

I'm also new to AndroidQuestions, though have been an occasional poster at LinuxQuestions for years. In posing the following I'll mention that I haven't yet rooted my tablet but intend to do so. I'm wondering if there exists:

1. Anywhere on this site that provides a categorized list of free, usable basic apps to set up a device for productive use.

2. Anywhere else on the Inet offering a similar list.

3. Any determined effort to fork Android and reclaim the code for a TRUE OSS mobile operating platform independent of G***le.

As regards the last I'm aware of MIUI and a couple of others, but they strike me as attempts to retain the commercially-oriented aspects by juvenile megabuck wanna-be's that poison any false pretence at real open source. My apologies if this post seems a trifle cynical; I've been as kind as I can.

Device(s)
    Asus Nexus 7
    I still don't own a smart phone. But develop Android and iOS apps for work. I still am trying to find any real use for tablets beyond simple mobile things like GPS, calls, quick web look ups, games, books, music, pictures. A couple of issues are that file transfer for the google nexus devices are near incomprehensible, we end up using email which limits in the case of video. I just never put in enough horsepower to determine alternate ways to transfer off the tablet for when we make a movie that's bigger than 20 MB and hence too large for email.