Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Samsung Gallaxy S ll: A $700 paper weight? - Can't browse without WIFI

    Hello:

    The Short of it: I cannot, for example, connect to Android Market if I am not using WIFI on my Samsung Galaxt S ll GT-I9100

    The Long of it: I had a Samsung Nexus S Google phone and was able to connect with or without WIFI enabled. I was, and still am, using the Petro Canada Mobility Unlimited Plan. Petro Canada piggy-backs on Rogers. I had to set up an APN with the following configuration to achieve Unlimited browsing without WIFI enabled:
    APN Name: test
    APN: goam.com
    Proxy: 10.128.1.69
    Port: 80
    Username: wapuser1
    Password: wap
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 720
    APN protocal: IPv4

    The same configuration does not work on the new phone. There is no place to set the APN protocal to IPv4, could that be the problem?

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Rob.
    Last edited by Robert.Thompson; 10-24-2011 at 02:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    245
    Blog Entries
    3

    Device(s)
    Droidx, Xoom and Comcast MIFI Hotspot
    Do you need to register or authenticate the MAC address of the new phone with Petro Canada or Rogers?



  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    I am very new to all of this.
    After I installed my Petro Canada SIM I asked them to do a reset of my card, which they did.

    Is that what you mean or must I do something else with them?

    Thanks.



  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    245
    Blog Entries
    3

    Device(s)
    Droidx, Xoom and Comcast MIFI Hotspot
    Are you in Airplane mode? Can you take it back to Petro Canada to see if the sim is bad?



  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    Nope, not in Airplane mode.

    I ordered a new sim card from Petro Canada. At this point, what's another $15.00?

    Thanks for you time.

    Rob.



  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    I just noticed that, when I start the browser, the home page is: http://movil.yoigo.es. This is Spain!!!

    I purchased the phone from Amazon.ca & when I started it for the first time, the language was set to Spanish. I switched to English.

    Does this mean that I need to do something special to make my phone know that I am in Canada, North America?

    Thanks,

    Rob.



  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    On a different forum, after giving the info below, it was suggested that I should 'flash US/Canada firmware'.

    How would I do this for Montreal, Quebec Canada for Petro Canada Mobility?

    Thanks for any advice.

    Rob.

    *#1234#
    PDA: i9100xwkf3
    PHONE: i9100xxke7
    CSC: i9100yogke1
    BUILD INFO: Thur Jun 9 18:16:44 kst 2011



  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    245
    Blog Entries
    3

    Device(s)
    Droidx, Xoom and Comcast MIFI Hotspot
    To change the Homepage.
    Open the Browser / Tap Settings icon Upper Right / Tap Settings @ bottom of dropdown / tap Set Homepage

    ---------- Post added at 04:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:24 PM ----------

    Does petro Canada provide a flash download? Can you take the device into a Petro Canada store for assistance?



  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    Thanks.

    Petro Canada offers zero support for non-petro canada phones.

    Is this 'flashing' stuff difficult and will it void my Samsung warranty?

    Edit: It seems that my phone has 'no warranty', atleast that is what Amazon.ca says on the product description - I did not notice that before.

    Rob.


    Last edited by Robert.Thompson; 10-27-2011 at 08:58 AM.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    I updated (flashed) the firmware and reset my settings and all is well, I think.

    Used these settings:

    APN for a Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 phone & Petro Canada:
    Created a new access point name called 'test'

    Name: test
    APN: goam.com
    Proxy: 10.128.1.69
    Port: 80
    Username: wapuser1
    Password: wap
    MMSC: http://mms.gprs.rogers.com
    MMS proxy: 10.128.1.69
    MMS port: 80
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 720
    APN type: internet + mms

    Any other APN setting left untouched.

    To enable text messaging, I set the 'Message center' number to: +17057969300 (don't forget the '+' sign!)

    Marketing as SOLVED.


    Last edited by Robert.Thompson; 01-10-2012 at 12:04 PM. Reason: additions
    Rob. (A complete android newbie!)

    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 ICS I9100XWLP3

    My Blog: www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    245
    Blog Entries
    3

    Device(s)
    Droidx, Xoom and Comcast MIFI Hotspot
    Thanks for posting back with your solution. I'm guessing you found a good tutorial to walk you through the Flash process. Got a link? Or better yet, would you please provide details on how you found the right firmware for your phone and the download /flash process. Direct to your phonej via 3G or down to your computer an then to your phone via usb or Wi-Fi.?



  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    Quote Originally Posted by john test View Post
    Thanks for posting back with your solution. I'm guessing you found a good tutorial to walk you through the Flash process. Got a link? Or better yet, would you please provide details on how you found the right firmware for your phone and the download /flash process. Direct to your phonej via 3G or down to your computer an then to your phone via usb or Wi-Fi.?
    NB: I am a complete newbie to this android phone stuff.


    Install Android 2.3.6 Gingerbread XWKK5 Update on a Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-i9100 by downloading files to your PC and then updating the firmware using ODIN connected by a USB cable.

    My phone is not rooted.

    The tutorial that I used was: http://androidflip.com/install-andro...xy-s2-gti9100/

    It includes the download link for the firmware. The download includes all the files that are required and provides a link to a tutorial for doing the actual install - http://androidflip.com/how-to-instal...-s-2-gt-i9100/

    This second link provides links for ODIN3 1.83, the software that will run on your PC that actually does the install to your phone via a USB cable. It also provides a link to 'drivers' that must be living on your PC for everything to work properly. Note: It seems that if you have installed Kies to your PC, the required drivers for ODIN3 will already be installed - I re-installed them anyway.

    This second link includes links to download 'Firmware & Pit' files - I did not use these links as the first link above provides everything that you need. It also includes a link for downloading 7-Zip which is used to extract the files from the firmware '.rar' downloaded using the link above. When 7-Zip extracts the '.rar', it will create a directory containing all the files that you will select, in ODIN, to update your phone. (http://www.7-zip.org/)

    I just read through the tutorials completely, and any sub-tutorial links, a couple of times and then did it - it worked perfectly, as far as I know.

    Some important points to remember:
    1. This firmware is for a Samsung Galaxy S2 GTi9100
    2. Backup your phone if it matters to you - it didn't in my case as I only had free apps installed and do not save anything on my phone.
    3. Remove SIM & SD cards before messing with your phone.
    4. Kies, if installed, must be completely stopped before you start ODIN - use the 'Alt+Ctrl+Delete' to launch windows Task Manager and then go to 'Processes' and stop any containing 'Kies' - there were 2 in my case.
    5. Make sure that your phone is completely charged before you begin.


    To find firmware for my phone I did google searches like: 'samsung galaxy sII gt-i9100 firmware', 'samsung galaxy s2 gt-i9100 firmware', 'upadate galaxy s2 gt-i9100', 'flash galaxy s2 gt-i9100'

    HTH


    Last edited by Robert.Thompson; 12-25-2011 at 12:56 PM.
    Rob. (A complete android newbie!)

    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 ICS I9100XWLP3

    My Blog: www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com

  13. #13
    have you tried a factory reset to your phone?



  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    45

    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-I9100 http://googlevoiceforcanadians.com/

    Original Poster
    Quote Originally Posted by foottuns View Post
    have you tried a factory reset to your phone?
    Yes, I had done that.


    Rob. (A complete android newbie!)

    Samsung Galaxy S II GT-i9100 ICS I9100XWLP3

    My Blog: www.googlevoiceforcanadians.com

  15. #15
    Just wanted to say this page was VERY helpful for my setting up a Samsung Galaxy Note on the Petro Mobility Network. Thanks for putting in the time on this Robert! I'm up and running and it's great!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •