See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

What do y'all use to develop?

First of all, yes I am Texan, hence the "y'all" word I am a programmer in the sense that someone that golfs three times year calls themselves a "hacker", as in, I do it strictly as a hobby and just do small fun things when I want (kids for the games, plug-ins for firefox, stuff for our family web site, etc.) and was curious as to what y'all use for programming for Android devices? My wife has some neat ideas, and I might want to create some sort of "family scheduling" app of some sorts and would like a nice place to start. Thank you in advance for any information, advice, or edumacation!! I do know computers, software, and in a sense programming, so I will understand the lingo, but I would appreciate pointing me in the right direction. Thanks again,

Earl
    akaKingESS

Some application developers use Eclipse.

Device(s)
    Asus transformer
    I'm using the "android-mode" for emacs
    https://github.com/remvee/android-mo...ndroid-mode.el

1 members found this post helpful.

Thumbs up

I'm guessing the OP is referring to SDK's/libraries/compilers. I'd like to know too. I'm even more of an amateur programmer, but might be fun/handy.
    (Now I seen the link in the previous post.)
    If Android is based on Linux, does that mean you can get it's source code and build your own version?

Last edited by Weapon S; 05-29-2011 at 05:32 AM.

Device(s)
    Asus transformer
    Quote Originally Posted by Weapon S View Post
    I'm guessing the OP is referring to SDK's/libraries/compilers. I'd like to know too. I'm even more of an amateur programmer, but might be fun/handy.
    If Android is based on Linux, does that mean you can get it's source code and build your own version?
    Android SDK + instructions: http://developer.android.com/sdk/index.html

Android source code: http://source.android.com/index.html

Device(s)
    Asus transformer