Put a new kernel on a huawei u8650 without bricking it in the try

Hello.

I am new to the android world, and I am enjoying my experience with android. I thought this would be the best place to ask this, but if not, please, kindly direct me to the best place for this. I am a bit lost.

This started a couple of days ago. I was toying with my phone, and I discovered that for some reason, whomever compiled my kernel decided that I don't need cifs support (but the fact is that I do).

Coming from gentoo, setting up a cross compilation setup was not a big deal. I downloaded the kernel for my mobile, same exact version, and I managed to compile it using the MSM7x27 cpu type. I changed the default msm7x27 config only to add cifs, and then just let make run. It fails at the end, though I don't know if the error is relevant. See below...

Code:
      LD      vmlinux.o
      MODPOST vmlinux.o
    WARNING: vmlinux.o(.text+0xe474): Section mismatch in reference from the function msm_map_io.clone.0() to the (unknown reference) .init.data:(unknown)
    The function msm_map_io.clone.0() references
    the (unknown reference) __initdata (unknown).
    This is often because msm_map_io.clone.0 lacks a __initdata
    annotation or the annotation of (unknown) is wrong.

To build the kernel despite the mismatches, build with:
    'make CONFIG_NO_ERROR_ON_MISMATCH=y'
    (NOTE: This is not recommended)
    make[1]: *** [vmlinux.o] Error 1
    make: *** [vmlinux.o] Error 2