LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-05-2001, 09:10 AM   #1
Dynamo

Distribution: SuSE;Mandrake

Rep: Reputation: 15
Angry

I have Red Hat Linux 7 but the Xconfigurator won't detect my video card which is NVIDIA GeForce 2MX.the problem comes when i should select the type of the chip.it's not there(i don't know what to choose).should i install its drivers and how?
please,tell me if there is something important i'm missing.
by the way...i'm new to Linux.

thanks to all of you

Old 04-05-2001, 10:03 AM   #2
trickykid
LQ Guru

Rep: Reputation: 269Reputation: 269Reputation: 269
Most likely it isn't supported by your version of Xfree86, you need to most likely go to http://www.xfree86.org and see there if they have any newer versions that support your card or find on their lists what drivers that might support your video now.

Good Luck

Old 04-05-2001, 01:24 PM   #3
Dynamo

Original Poster
OK,now i know that i need xfree86 4.0.3(it supports my vcard).but how can i get it and use it since i can work only
from the command line of Linux?

Old 04-05-2001, 01:47 PM   #4
trickykid
LQ Guru

Rep: Reputation: 269Reputation: 269Reputation: 269
You should be able to ftp into their site.
ftp.xfree86.org and the latest version should be in the /pub directory. This is all considering if you have your internet connection working or not.

Old 04-07-2001, 09:44 AM   #5
Dynamo

Original Poster
OK,what shell i do after downloading xfree86 4.0.3?how could i replace it with the old one.i downloaded it under win ME.
sorry if that sounds very stupid but i have no idea how to cope with it.