LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2001, 11:36 PM   #1
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Rep: Reputation: 15
Unhappy help0101010101!!!!!


I have Corel Linux installed on my computer but whenever i start my comp and the splash screen should come on i se 0101010101010101010... it goes on forever. does anyone know what i need to do to fix this if you do it would be a great help.
 
Old 07-12-2001, 12:37 AM   #2
mcleodnine
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2001
Location: Left Coast - Canada
Distribution: s l a c k w a r e
Posts: 2,731

Rep: Reputation: 45
Sounds like a LILO problem. Do you have a boot disk?
 
Old 07-12-2001, 03:25 AM   #3
jharris
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Distribution: Slackware, Fedora, RHES
Posts: 2,243

Rep: Reputation: 47
I'd agree with mcleodnine. Did you install LILO to your MBR (master boot record) or your Superblock. I've seen this happen when its been put on the superblock. If you do have a boot disk then have a look at /etc/lilo.conf and post the contents.

HTH

Jamie...
 
Old 07-12-2001, 11:01 AM   #4
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I have a boot disk but it is only to install Linuxand i think it is LILO is there any other way to fix this if I dont have a boot disk or is there a way I could get a boot disk if I have Windows on my parents computer.
 
Old 07-12-2001, 11:03 AM   #5
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Oh, it didn't ask me where to install LILO so I dont know where it is.
 
Old 07-12-2001, 08:32 PM   #6
DMR
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: Fairfax, California
Distribution: RH 9.0, RH 7.3, Mandrake 8.0
Posts: 986

Rep: Reputation: 30
If you need a universal boot/utility floppy, try tomsrtbt. Read the FAQ for instructions.
 
Old 07-12-2001, 11:39 PM   #7
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I can't get tomsrtbt to work even after i read the FAQ i get an unknown error are there any other good ones I can use:smash:
 
Old 07-12-2001, 11:51 PM   #8
DMR
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2001
Location: Fairfax, California
Distribution: RH 9.0, RH 7.3, Mandrake 8.0
Posts: 986

Rep: Reputation: 30
Tomsrtbt is the most recommended, and I'm not sure about others. Try a search at Google for "linux boot disk" and see what comes up.
 
Old 07-13-2001, 01:17 PM   #9
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
i got a boot disk but dont know how to get to the lilo.conf from the actual linux only the one on the boot disk itself because i know little about linux.
 
Old 07-13-2001, 02:09 PM   #10
KevinJ
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Distribution: Redhat v8.0 (soon to be Fedora? or maybe I will just go back to Slackware)
Posts: 857

Rep: Reputation: 30
I am betting this won't make a lot of sense to you.. but read it anyway:

http://www.geocities.com/rlcomp_1999/recovery.html


KevinJ
 
Old 07-13-2001, 07:31 PM   #11
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
well I got fe up with being unable to get it to work and I tried installing Windows on a partition and Linux on another and now when i boot it just shows a blinking "-" and thats all it never gets past that might have to give up and go back to windows although i really don't want to
 
Old 07-13-2001, 08:23 PM   #12
jharris
Senior Member
 
Registered: May 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Distribution: Slackware, Fedora, RHES
Posts: 2,243

Rep: Reputation: 47
All right, here we go... Try installing Linux again... If you get the same error then do the following to get LILO on your MBR.

Get out your boot disk again and get to a prompt as root. Did you create a sperate boot partition? If so then use the following, otherwise scroll down to the next section!:

START HERE

Make a directory called fs using
Code:
mkdir fs
Now - do you remember where your root file systems is?? I hope so. In this example I'm gonna assume its /dev/hda3, adjust it to suite where your root filesytem really is. Now mount your root file system on your newly created fs directory using
Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /fs
Now I'm assuming that your boot partition is /dev/hda2, again adjust this to fit the actual value. Create another directory called /bootfs using
Code:
mkdir /bootfs
and mount your boot directory there using
Code:
mount /dev/hda2 /bootfs
Now edit /fs/etc/lilo.conf (using vi or pico or whatever editor takes you fancy!) so that it contains the following: (there's not really a space between each line, its just how the forum renders the 'code' sections!).
Code:
boot = /dev/hda
delay = 50
vga = normal
image = /bootfs/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/hda3
  label = Linux
  read-only
Now save the file and exit the editor. Next run
Code:
lilo -C /fs/etc/lilo.conf
to install LILO to your MBR and have it loading the existing kernel on your hard disk.

Now remove the boot disk and reboot. Hopefully this will bring up the system correctly into Linux. Logon as root again and edit /etc/lilo.conf to change the image= line so it reads
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
save the file and exit. Now run LILO again by simply typing
Code:
lilo
This last step isn't strictly necessary but it'll confirm that if you recompile your kernel in the future that LILO will be happy.

STOP HERE

If you don't have a seperate /boot partition then do the following

START HERE

Make a directory called fs using
Code:
mkdir fs
Now - do you remember where your root file systems is?? I hope so. In this example I'm gonna assume its /dev/hda3, adjust it to suite where your root filesytem really is. Now mount your root file system on your newly created fs directory using
Code:
mount /dev/hda3 /fs
Now edit /fs/etc/lilo.conf (using vi or pico or whatever editor takes you fancy!) so that it contains the following: (there's not really a space between each line, its just how the forum renders the 'code' sections!).
Code:
boot = /dev/hda
delay = 50
vga = normal
image = /vmlinuz
  root = /dev/hda3
  label = Linux
  read-only
Now save the file and exit the editor. Next run
Code:
lilo -C /fs/etc/lilo.conf
to install LILO to your MBR and have to loading the existing kernel on your hard disk.

Now remove the boot disk and reboot. Hopefully this will bring up the system correctly into Linux. Logon as root again and edit /etc/lilo.conf to change the image= line so it reads
Code:
image = /vmlinuz
and now run LILO again by simply typing
Code:
lilo
This last step isn't strictly necessary but it'll confirm that if you recompile your kernel in the future that LILO will be happy.

STOP HERE

Hope that makes sense, have a go and post your questions back here.

cheers!

Jamie...

Last edited by jharris; 07-13-2001 at 08:28 PM.
 
Old 07-13-2001, 11:39 PM   #13
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
OK I did what you said and it still didn't work but I wrote down what it said after I did the commands.
after the command mount /dev/hda3/fs (mount /dev/hdb2 for me) it said EXT2-fs warning: mounting on unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended


and after the command lilo -C /fs/etc/lilo.conf it said Warning: /dev/hdb is not on first disk
open /boot/boot.b: No such file or directory

Then when i rebooted it started and said L 010101010101010101

 
Old 07-13-2001, 11:57 PM   #14
madcrutch
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Dayton
Distribution: Redhat, Mandrake & Caldera
Posts: 32

Rep: Reputation: 15
Here is the URL from the Corel Website knowledgebase that refers to your specific problem. Below is the text. Hope it helps.

http://kb.corel.com/kbdocs/UNKNOWN/C...NG0_201989.htm

After installing Corel® LINUX® the system reboots and "L" followed by an endless stream of "01010101" appears on the display.


This usually indicates that the file /boot/boot.b is in a location that the BIOS is not able to access. Quite often the hard disk is on the secondary IDE interface or the Linux boot information does not reside prior to the 1024th cylinder. If the BIOS has LBA enabled, the 1024th cylinder will be at around 8 gigabytes. With LBA disabled it is around 540 megabytes. When partitoning the drive, ensure that Corel LINUX's partition does not begin after the 8 gigabyte mark (for most LBA drives). If the hard drive is on the secondary IDE interface, also try switching the hard drive it to the primary IDE controller.

GOOD LUCK!!!
 
Old 07-14-2001, 10:13 PM   #15
amam
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Ubuntu (Hoary)
Posts: 30

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I think I know what my problem was. When my old hard drive crashed Windows let me boot off of the primary slave ( I did this because I couldn't find a jumper to make it the master). I'm assuming that Linux won't let me do this. So I'am gonna try making it the masteror finding another disk that is a master and installing Linux on that(The problem with the old disk was the FAT was bad so I'm gonna see if Linux can use it).
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration